



Call for Nominations for the

2024 Rigaku-ICTAC Young Scientist Award and 2024 ICTAC Promising Researcher Award

(incorporating the ICTAC Travel Grants)

18th ICTAC Congress, Bodh Gaya, India, September 2nd to 7th, 2024

The programme aims to strengthen the future of ICTAC by helping young scientists below the age of 35 to develop their careers in the fields of thermal analysis and calorimetry by enabling them to present a paper on their research at the International Confederation for Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry (ICTAC) Congress. The Nominations for the Award may only be made by an ICTAC Affiliated Society.

Rigaku-ICTAC Young Scientist Award

This Award will be presented to an outstanding young scientist working in the field of thermal analysis and calorimetry to enable them to present a paper based on their work at a Plenary Session of the 18th International Confederation for Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry (ICTAC) Congress. The Award consists of a plaque and \$2,000 towards the Congress registration fee, travel, and living expenses at the Congress. Candidates must be below 35 years old at the time of the Congress.

ICTAC Promising Researcher Award

This Award aims to help a promising young scientist to develop their careers in the fields of thermal analysis and calorimetry by enabling them to present a paper on their research at the 18th ICTAC Congress. The award consists of a plaque and \$1,500 towards the Congress registration fee, travel, and living expenses at the meeting. Candidates must be below 35 years old at the time of the Congress.

ICTAC Travel Grants

Five Travel Grants of up to \$1,500 each are available to enable the recipients to present a paper based on their work at the appropriate Technical Session of the 18th ICTAC Congress. Grants would be payable by the ICTAC Treasurer at the Congress as a contribution to the lodging and travel expenses. Candidates must be below 35 years old at the time of the Congress. The choice of the Travel Grant recipients will be based on the ranking order provided by the Awards Committee for candidates for the Rigaku-ICTAC Young Scientist Award and the Rigaku-ICTAC Promising Researcher Award.

Nominating Procedure

Nominations package should include (1) a letter of nomination by the President of the Affiliate Society on behalf of its Council, (2) curriculum vitae, (3) list of publications and a one-page abstract of the paper that the candidate intends to present at the ICTAC Congress. The complete nominating material should be sent, in electronic format, to Professor Riko Ozao, Chair of the ICTAC Scientific Awards Committee (ozao@shohoku.ac.jp) by the 29th February 2024. Only one nomination is permitted for each Affiliate Society.

Professor Riko Ozao
Chair, ICTAC Scientific Awards Committee
General Research Center, SONY Institute of Higher Education, Shohoku College
Atsugi, Kanagawa 243-8501
ozao@shohoku.ac.jp

Note

The previous winners of the Rigaku-ICTAC Young Scientist Award, which was formerly the Perkin-Elmer-ICTAC Young Scientist Award, are:

Dagmar Brandova, Czechoslovakia (1985); Judith Schlichter-Aronheim, Israel (1988); Jĭrí Málek, Czechoslovakia (1992); Nobuyoshi Koga, Japan (1996); Erqian Chen, USA (2000); Christopher Li, USA (2004); Imre Miklós Szilágyi, Hungary (2008); Séverine Boyer, France (2012); ICTAC Young Scientist Award for 2016: Andrei Rotaru, Romania (2016); Rigaku-ICTAC Young Scientist Award for 2020: Kento Shiota, Japan (2021).