Call for Nominations for the ICTAC Young Scientist Award (incorporating the ICTAC Travel Grants) 16th ICTAC Congress, Orlando, Florida, USA, August 2016.

Introduction

Following the decision by the ICTAC Council in 2012, the ICTAC Young Scientist Award and the ICTAC Travel Grants have been merged. The choice of the Travel Grant recipients will be based on the ranking order provided by the ICTAC Scientific Awards Committee for candidates for the ICTAC Young Scientist Award.

ICTAC Young Scientist Award

This Award will be presented to an outstanding young scientist working in the field of thermal analysis and calorimetry to enable them to present a paper based on their work at a Plenary Session of the 16th ICTAC Congress. The Award consists of a plaque and \$2000 towards the Congress Registration Fee, travel and the living expenses at the Congress. Candidates must be under the age of 35 on the 31st December 2015.

The previous winners of this Award, which was formerly the PerkinElmer-ICTAC Young Scientist Award, are: Dagmar Brandova, Czechoslovakia (1985); Judith Schlichter-Aronheim, Israel (1988); Jĭrí Málek, Czechoslovakia (1992); Nobuyoshi Koga, Japan (1996); Erqiang Chen, USA (2000); Christopher Li, USA (2004); Imre Miklós Szilágyi, Hungary (2008); Séverine Boyer, France (2012).

ICTAC Travel Grants

The ICTAC Travel Grant programme aims at preparing the future of ICTAC by helping bright and young scientists to keep a continuing interest and activity in the fields of Thermal Analysis & Calorimetry. Five Travel Grants of up to \$1500 each are available to enable the recipients to present a paper based on their work at the appropriate Technical Session of the 16th ICTAC Congress. Grants would be payable by the ICTAC Treasurer at the Congress as a contribution to the lodging and travel expenses

Nominating Procedure

Nominations should include a letter of nomination by the President of their Affiliate Society on behalf of their Council, curriculum vitae, list of publications and a one page abstract of the paper that the candidate intends to present at the 16th ICTAC Congress. The complete nominating material should be sent in electronic format to Professor E.L.Charsley, Chairman of the ICTAC Scientific Awards Committee (e.l.charsley@hud.ac.uk) by the 31st January 2016. Only one nomination is permitted for each Affiliate Society.

Professor E.L.Charsley Chairman ICTAC Scientific Awards Committee IPOS, School of Applied Sciences, University of Huddersfield, Queensgate, Huddersfield HD1 3DH, UK e.l.charsley@hud.ac.uk